Market Day and a Strawberry Classic

I have been itching to post this one for a couple of days, however a ‘laptop meets floor’ incident has left me technically restricted for the back end of the week. I’m so clumsy it’s untrue.

As much as I love living in Gibraltar, escaping across the border does bring a certain sense of relief in the middle of my week. This week Finn and I went for a run on the beach and then walked back through the market in La Linea. It’s not a very salubrious town and the market is pretty simple, but the perfect place for fresh, well priced vegetables and fruit. This week I went without a list and paid the penalty of getting over excited. I struggled back over the border with more than I could carry and the pressure of working out a plan for all my purchases.

So I’ve free-wheeled a bit. I’ve played around with various fruity concoctions, including a lovely pineapple chutney a few stunning smoothies.

Strawberries_1

Fruit_1

Tomato_1

Market Man_1

The star of the market selection was the lovely fat strawberries. So I’m going to start with an updated version of a classic smoothie. I used goats milk and avocado in this one, both of which give a really creamy taste. The seeds are really not to be missed. They add crunch and texture which totally transforms the smoothie.

Strawberry_2

You will need:

  • 400g strawberries
  • 2 x banana
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 x tablespoon honey
  • 250g goats yoghurt
  • 10g toasted chia seeds and linseed (just toast in a dry pan for 5 minutes)

This makes 2 very generous smoothies (around 330 calories each) or 3 regular glasses (around 220 each).

To make:

  • Add everything except the seeds to a blender and whizz up.
  • Stir the toasted seeds through the smoothie and sprinkle a few on top.
  • Pop these in the freezer for 10 minutes before diving in with a spoon

Strawberry_3

Enjoy x

10 thoughts on “Market Day and a Strawberry Classic

    • Laura Kate March 7, 2015 / 4:51 pm

      I think next time I shop I’ll be more controlled with what I buy though. I can get over excited in markets!

      Liked by 1 person

      • grahamhey March 8, 2015 / 11:35 am

        Love the descriptions of you going shopping in Spain
        The bit of extra background information makes all the difference.
        x

        Liked by 1 person

  1. nats742015 March 7, 2015 / 1:43 pm

    So tasty this one – a meal in itself especially with crunchy, toasted seeds. Mmmm.

    Like

    • Laura Kate March 7, 2015 / 4:49 pm

      Ah smoothie partner. Those seeds made it, I agree x

      Like

  2. Lisa March 8, 2015 / 8:16 pm

    Loving your recipes and updates Laura xxx

    Like

    • Laura Kate March 10, 2015 / 7:14 pm

      They’re fab because they stay crunchy. Try them on porridge – if you like porridge of course x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sameatshernutrients March 10, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    What a delicious looking smoothie! I am so excited to see the organic strawberries starting to look fresh and beautiful at the local market!

    Like

  4. Crafty Coin March 11, 2015 / 7:57 pm

    So pretty! Love the vibrant colors of fresh produce!

    Like

Leave a Reply

