Ginger nutters – Clean bake

It’s raining here in Gibraltar today. It doesn’t happen very often, so I quite like it. I’ve been for a wet run with Finn Dog, collected the boys from rugby and then turned into Debbie Domestic in the kitchen.

I’m all over the ginger at the minute. I’ve made the boys a ginger, carrot and apple loaf for later and made some clean eating raw food balls, packed with raw ginger.

ginger balls_2

So first the cake…

Is the cake clean eating? No, it’s got vegetables, fruit and good spices in which is pretty wholesome, but it is made with wheat flour and lashings of butter. However the kitchen smells amazing right now and I’d rather them eat that than open a boxed cake later on or a soulless frozen desert. There’s some conditioned and deep rooted maternal desire to get the approval of your brood with food. This kind of pudding warms hearts and makes me feel good to give.

Will I feel like I am missing out? Will I secretly cry inside as they crack into the ginger loaf and ladle with custard? I honestly won’t. It’s been so many years now since I ate anything like that, I just don’t want, need or miss if from my life. I am not depriving myself. I made choices that ultimately make me feel good not just when I eat or after I eat, but each and every day for life.

Here’s a link to the cake recipe

And now the Clean eating Ginger nutters

For 9 20g balls, you will need:

  • 70g dates
  • 30g dried cranberries
  • 40g dried coconut
  • 40g cashew nuts
  • 20g fresh grated ginger
  • A teaspoon honey
  1. Whizz up the nuts then remove from the processor
  2. Blitz up the remaining ingredients
  3. Remove and then with your hands work together the ingredients
  4. I then weighed out the 20g balls and shaped on a board
  5. They need an hour in the fridge to firm up
  6. Each 20g bar contains approximately 55 calories

ginger balls_1

I promise you these are gorgeous. They are a perfect sweet and spicy nibble.

7 thoughts on “Ginger nutters – Clean bake

  1. faithfully fueling March 24, 2015 / 8:23 pm

    These sound (and look) wonderful! I will definitely have to try this combination!

    Like

  2. Laura Kate March 24, 2015 / 8:51 pm

    Oh please do! These are probably the best ones to be honest. I’ve made these many times now and other people always enjoy these too. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Sarah Hartin April 28, 2015 / 7:57 pm

    Oh yeah these do look good, I have some garlic that needs using and might give it a go šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Laura Kate April 28, 2015 / 8:04 pm

    Eek do you mean ginger? Raw garlic might be a bit harsh šŸ˜‰ x

    Like

  5. Collin April 28, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    Ginger and cashews–interesting combo! Do you keep them refrigerated?

    Like

    • Laura Kate May 1, 2015 / 11:22 am

      Hi, yes I keep them in a little jar in the fridge. They keep really well. Do you think you will have a go?

      Like

Leave a Reply

